Coffee, cakes and come dine with me

Sometimes I feel as though my life consists of the following:

  • Coffee
  • Cakes
  • Come dine with me

Coffee – I start my day with a nespresso. There is something very satisfying about putting the small coloured capsule into the machine and the aroma of fresh coffee filling my lungs.

I often go out for coffee if I’m going to meet a friend. I find that there is something relaxing and soothing about it that means people are more likely to share and be open.

Cakes – I love to bake, I have recently put my apron back on and got back down to business. There is something deeply satisfying about the finished product and the delight in the recipient’s face!

I always feel a great sense of achievement when I have baked a cake especially when it turns out perfectly and there is nothing like the smell of freshly baked cakes either.

Come dine with me – I watch this programme all the time, mainly for Dave Lamb’s commentary I’m sure but there is something strangely addictive about it.

Perhaps it’s the opportunity to be a voyeur in someone else’s life and to be reassured by the fact that everyone finds entertaining stressful. I’m just glad that we don’t get scores.

As you may or may not know I am somewhat of a social butterfly. I like being around people and enjoy having people in my home. I suppose I have a ‘come dine with me’ mentality in a sense as I don’t think there is one week that goes by without me having people over or visitng others.

I suppose there is something about food and drink that brings people together and that’s why coffee, cakes and come dine with me feature so heavily in my life.

I sometimes feel we miss out a little. On the continent a meal is a long, drawn out affair with people talking, engaging and enjoying each other’s company.

I suppose there is a something in me that wants to introduce more of that into my everyday life. Bringing people together face to face.

What does your life consist of the most and why do you think that is?

 

 

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee, cakes and come dine with me

  1. iamsarahk says:

    My life mostly consists of my dogs – I’m not much of a people person and when we have people over I usually hide out in my room playing with my dogs… is that strange?
    I also love coffee and cannot face a day without it 🙂

Leave a Reply

