Caution! This post contains honesty…

I realise as I look back over my blog posts that I have failed to talk about the most important thing in my life – my faith.

Now, there may be any number of reasons for this but I think if I’m honest the main reason is my fear of judgement. I suppose there’s a part of me that has seen the eyes glaze over and the polite smile so many times that I tend to get to know people before I bring it up. Now quite how this response is the  same from a reader I don’t know but I still feel it I guess.

My faith is part of my everyday life – it is not something that is only about Sunday for me or about rules and restrictions and being high and mighty.

This morning I began my day praying in the shower, this afternoon I will read the bible and go to see a friend for coffee and pray with them. Every Tuesday evening I meet up with a friend  to chat and pray about our lives, each Thursday I go to a life group and meet in a small group to pray, worship and share community. Each Sunday I go to church.

I am not super spiritual, super holy, a bible basher or any other such terms which may well spring to mind. I do not live my life judging the world and feeling superior.

There are two things I live by:

1. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.

2. Love your neighbour as yourself.

I don’t always succeed, I am in no way perfect but my faith is something I live out day by day and it is an integral part of who I am.

Feel free to judge me because of this, feel free to think differently of me but I cannot deny who I am and I promised myself this year that I would be honest, that I would be truthful and that I would not let fear of what people think of me stop me from being who I am.

So there we go… think what you wish but know that I am still the same me you have always known.

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Caution! This post contains honesty…

  1. Justine Hay says:

    It really upsets me when people judge based on Religious beliefs, I’ve never been able to believe in religion or keep faith but I admire people who do. Nobody should judge you for what you believe.

  2. Womble61 says:

    Your faith seems to be integrated into your life, not a bolt on. This I really admire, and must also admit to a degree of envy. You are right when you say your post is honest, and in writing it you have taken risks – because people may judge and that is not always easy to tolerate. Again, this is an indication of how important it is to you.

    I share your faith, but have been hurt several times by church. My experience is that the ‘love’ within churches is conditional and shallow. As a result I love God but now have a profound mistrust of his Church and some Christians. I find prayer almost impossible. If I do worship I prefer to do so in places like cathedrals where I can remain quite anonymous and simply allow the music and liturgy to fortify me. Other than that I just try to do what I think God would wish of me, failing more often than I succeed.

    This latest blog has a lovely, simple and inspiring message. Much like the Christian message itself.

    • loukachu says:

      You are right, it is important and integral to who I am and therefore although the post was a risk – it was necessary as I don’t want to hide who I am and it did not sit right with me not to say it.

      Unfortunately churches are full of imperfect people and the sad thing is a lot of the time people hide behind masks and pretend they are perfect and this can lead to hurt. I am blessed to be in a church with a group of people who neither wear masks or pretend to be perfect and it is a real family feel – obviously this means there are sometimes the usual squabbles but the foundation is love.

      My post was simply a chance for me to be honest about my faith – it was meant to be as you said – simple. I’m glad that you found it inspiring too 🙂

Leave a comment