Giving the hairdresser the chop…

I have a confession to make, I realise you will judge me and may think differently about me after this but it has to be said.

I don’t like going to the hairdresser.

I know that all of woman kind have taken a sharp intake of breath and that any men reading are a little shocked.

I would almost say I have a phobia of it. I think I’m allergic to the small talk. I don’t have an idea of what style suits me, what type of cut I want or if I want it blow dried straight or flicked. I find the whole process so stressful.

I thought at 29 I had overcome my issue – there is a salon just down the road that I had started going to every 6 weeks like a good brainwashed person does, parting with my hard earned cash.

The first appointment was a little awkward with the usual small talk but there then seemed to be more of a flow and I relaxed – paid, made my next appointment and was proud of myself for finally getting over my issue.

At my second appointment I was completely at ease and the small talk was no more just a conversation.

I continued to go and spoke to my friends and family about how friendly the salon was and how consistent.

When I went for my appointment in November despite my usual hairdresser being there my appointment had been moved to another stylist. This freaked me out for one and I was also a little put out. I had built up a rapport and understanding with my usual stylist and now I had to start the whole process again.

I didn’t want to and although I stayed for my appointment – I cancelled my next one in January and haven’t been back since.

Although this may seem somewhat superficial and a lot to do with my own issues, it’s also to do with customer service and knowing your customer. If I had kept my stylist they would have had my permanent custom and I would have been a regular source of income every 6 weeks.

Perhaps if there had been some explanation for the change or a phone call before I turned up I may have been more forgiving.

If you own a business how do you ensure you are aware of the needs of you’re customer?

As a customer what is important to you and what would stop you from returning somewhere?

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

