The social butterfly flutters her wings…

People often comment on my social life. That I’m always doing something or in most cases a lot of things. I would even describe myself as a social butterfly. It’s also true that I am always being social, sociable, lunching, parties, coffee etc.

I do have quite a large circle of friends and then of course three families to maintain. Three due to the fact my mum and dad separated when I was five.

In some ways it’s as much work as a job. Actually maintaining meaningful relationships takes a lot of time, effort and a lot of me!

I do get energised from spending time with people – I enjoy social interaction and I suppose people would describe me as the life and soul. I also in partnership with my husband seem to have the ability to bring groups of people together or help people feel at ease and as such we are often invited to be ‘the talkers’

I don’t mind this at all, this is not going to be a post that bemoans the fact that we have lots of social engagements. However, I was just wondering whether we all have set roles in social situations and what they would be?

The talkers : Those you invite because you can guarantee they will keep the conversation going and ensure no awkward pauses. Able to engage all guests and make them feel included.

The bakers/chefs:The people you invite because you know when you ask them to bring ‘nibbles’ they will bring a culinary masterpiece which will wow your guests.

The fountain of knowledge The people you invite who are full of pearls of wisdom and knowledge and can regale your guests with amazing facts on every subject.

The party game enthusiasts The people who get really excited about group games and can organise and work up such a frenzy that even the most reticent of guests will join in.

The tidy uppers The people you invite because you know when the party is over and you are left with all the mess they will stay faithfully until every last glass is washed and put away.

The early birds The people who can be guaranteed to arrive on the dot and ensure your other guests don’t worry about being the first to arrive.

The latecomers The people you know will arrive late but will entertain everyone with their long winded and confusing stories of why.

Yes, I am intentionally being a little ‘tongue in cheek’ but I’m sure you all recognise these guests and can spot which category you fit into?

So my questions for you are Which guest are you?
Which guests do you invite?
Which guests have I missed?

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The social butterfly flutters her wings…

  1. tokenminds says:

    Interesting. I’m really not sure what type of guest I am, other than “drunk” which probably isn’t a good selling point!

  2. Womble61 says:

    What a fascinating blog.

    I think that you may have left out one group of people. A group in which I would include myself.

    The listeners.

    If people are going to talk there also need to be people to hear them. I am not an extrovert, in fact I must say that I really dislike large social gatherings and try to avoid them. I do enjoy small to moderate size dinner parties however (I’m not anti-social, I just feel like a fish out of water at large parties).

    So if you invite me I will happily listen to you, ask questions, and be genuinely interested in what you and your guests have to say.

    Mention party games and I will be out the door before you can say “fancy dress”, but join me in a quiet backwater like the kitchen and we could have an interesting conversation.

    I would like that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

