Sometimes it’s all about the little things…

It’s the little things in life that count. The thoughtful text, the friend who drops by to see how you are. The first cup of coffee in the morning, wearing your favourite pair of jeans. A smile.

It’s the little things that often have the most impact too. The text i received from dad that said ‘I’ll try and make it but I’m really busy all the time.’ It was only a text message but it cut deep into my psyche as I have explained in a previous post.

The invitation from some friends to a murder mystery party and being asked to play two men. The initial elation of the party was quickly overshadowed by my questioning of why did I have to be the one? Why had they thought that I would be ok with that? So much so that I’m considering not attending. Petty? It may seem that way to you but I’m in a delicate place right now what with the death of my uncle, being redundant, being hurt by my dad again and again. So it may seem like a ‘little thing’ but to me it’s too much.

There is also an expectation of me to be outgoing, bubbly, ‘the life and soul of the party’ and yes I am happy to be like that when I feel it but right now I don’t. Right now, I just need some space to rant and order my thoughts as they all crowd into my mind and fight for position.

Yes, yesterday I said I was looking forward to the adventure and that I wouldn’t let the redundancy make me bitter. It hasn’t and I’m not however, I am in a reflective mood. The thing is when you don’t have structure and order to your life you tend to get lost in thought, in your mind and that’s something that I don’t want to become all consuming.

There have been a number of really good ‘little things’ the text from a friend who you know will go all out for you and be there and let you be just how you want to be with no judgement. There’s the freedom from having to play the game at work anymore and that is really empowering. There is the time i have to get the house sorted and straight and more like home.

I promised my self that this year I would pay more attention to the little things, the thing is I forgot that sometimes these can go both ways. Sometimes it’s the little things that can smart, hurt and wound but there are plenty more which can heal and those are the ones I will concentrate on.

So I am grateful for:

  • The text from a true friend
  • Genuine concern and care
  • Having time to get the house sorted
  • Being able to bake and cook
  • Being able to write
  • The first cup of coffee in the morning
  • The people who read and comment on my blog
  • My twitter friends
  • The fact I am still able to get up each morning
  • The fact I am not hiding how I feel
  • My support network (including my ever patient husband)
  • My cats
  • The fact I have grown my nails without biting then for the first time ever

After completing that list, I have a beaming smile and feel warmed in my soul – simple I know but sometimes it’s all about the little things.

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes it’s all about the little things…

  1. Jay says:

    I had to teach myself these things quite a while back and do forget how important they are every now and then, especially as all I want is hinged on uncertainty. It’s good to be reminded and to know there are people out there that strive for the same things although via different routes…

  2. princeKnut says:

    Yay – good for you. I think you’re really brave to bare your soul for all to see. I liked the comment about work – God I wouldn’t miss all the politics and back-biting! Do you know what you’re going to do next? Enjoy your time off in the meantime! X

    • loukachu says:

      Thank you, I don’t really see it as brave, I find it helps me to order my thoughts sometimes. No idea what i’m going to next which in a way is scary more for financial reasons but I am going to go with this enforced time off and see what happens

  3. iamsarahk says:

    It’s hard when everyone knows you as a happy and outgoing person to be able to be reflective… people don’t understand, they can get confused because they don’t know you in that way.
    It is great that, with all you’re going through, you can still appreciate the small things.
    Bravo

  4. Womble61 says:

    A very thoughtful post. You are right that ‘little things’ can work both ways. Being sensitive to the good sometimes means being hurt by the negative little things. I really love your list of good things – all small blessings in there own way. Here’s to your future!

Leave a Reply

