Re – Done – dance-y

Yes, it is a rather odd title I will grant you that but it does in a nutshell explain my experience with redundancy. As in my previous post ‘curiouser and curiouser’ I explained the situation I was in regarding my job.

What has transpired is that I have been lied to, strung along and used. I would love to be vitriolic now and spout my anger and venom towards my employer or ex employer as they now are. However, I am neither angry nor vitriolic about the process. Why? you may ask.

I am ‘done’ with it all now, the games, the deceit, the false promises and the treatment of people as pawns in a twisted chess match. The dangerous dance on the knife edge falling in and out of favour which basically comes down to the fact that you are too expensive, you haven’t worked for them for long enough, you don’t quite ‘fit the mould’

I don’t want to be ‘one of them’ to become so cold, calculating and have no regard for the humanness of life. I worked hard, went over and above, followed through on all my promises and what did it get me? Redundancy.

I have checked my account this morning and surprisingly the one thing they have done quickly is pay me off, sorry a little cynical there, they have processed the payment into my account. The letter I received said it would take ten working days it has been only four.

I should be livivd about the fact that I have effectively worked four days for free but I am not going to be. I don’t want to be stressed and full of negative emotion.

The most surprising thing of all is that I am currently experiencing a serene calm about it all. Do I have my next steps planned? No. Am I financially secure? The mortgage will be paid for the next month or so. Do I feel supported by family and friends? Yes.

I have had the threat of this hanging over me since March 2010. I have been sure I was redundant, told I’m not redundant and found out I am redundant. I have already done the roller coaster and I’m not prepared to do it again. I am better than that.

I am now going to have a brief pause in my working life while I think about how I am going to move forward. I am not going to put myself under pressure or rush into a new job only to regret it a few weeks later.

So I shall venture into the unknown and enjoy the adventure – hello life!

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Re – Done – dance-y

  1. iamsarahk says:

    It’s brilliant that you can chose the way you want to feel about this situation, you sound like a very strong person with a very supportive network of family and friends.
    I hope everything works out for you.

    • loukachu says:

      Thank you – it’s been a long process really so all of the initial emotion has disappeared. I do have a choice how I respond and I want to respond in the way that is least damaging to me.

  2. blueeyedegret says:

    Redundancy is a tough thing to be faced with Louise, even when the employer does everything right (which seems not to be the case here). Remember though, these people are not your life long friends they were just work colleagues who happen to have shared part of your life and redundancy is not a reflection on you or your abilities – it’s just something your employer has done to meet some budget target.
    You will adjust and find a new way forward, knowing that you have acted with integrity when those around you have not.
    Bob

  3. Kirsty says:

    Just wanted to say I admire your views on this, so calm and collected. I wish you all the best with whatever the year brings for you.

  4. In the same boat, love. And when we eventually get that job we’re we love. This won’t matter. Stay Strong, God knows I’m trying to be.

Leave a Reply

