One day at a time…

Today I tried something a little revolutionary, as I felt the anger and stress pulsating through my body, when I arrived at work to discover I am expected to cover the absences of three members of staff for the next two weeks.

I stopped for a minute and made the decision that this week was all about one day at a time. Instead of focussing on the next two weeks, and all that entails, I simply looked at today.

Looking at my lessons for the day seemed quite daunting so I set myself a smaller task of lesson by lesson. This sounds so simple but it completely transformed my day.

Instead of feeling stressed and uptight and projecting that on to the classes as they came into the room, I felt calm and capable. I had a really positive day.

Now there is no way I would be so simplistic to bottle this as ‘how to survive your day’ or ‘methods for dealing with life’ it doesn’t work like that – this is the method that works for me but when discussing this with my colleagues they said their natural state was to consider the week as a whole and oftentimes it left them feeling overwhelmed and fed up.

This relates to my post on ‘sunday night blues’ and ‘the life that I have is all that I have’ in order to enjoy day to day life I need to change my thinking, I need to get out of my natural bent to moan and stress about up and coming days.

I felt elated when I finished work today as if I had earned my evening at home where I was free to do as I pleased essentially. I did not carry work home with me, I am not thinking of tomorrow but simply of tonight.

What will I do? Probably nothing any different to usual – sit on the sofa in my pjs and watch tv but what will be different is that my mind won’t be racing with thoughts of tomorrow and what’s happening next week.

This doesn’t mean I will stop planning ahead or not book things in the calendar for weeks ahead. I can’t lead my life as one spontaneous moment to another. However, I can relax and enjoy each day as it comes as saccharine as that sounds.

Will I keep this up? Who knows? I will just take it one day at a time…

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One day at a time…

  1. Kirsty says:

    I might have to try this. I often worry about things well in advance of them happening. I can see that dealing with things one at a time or on a day by day basis would probably be good for me.

  2. iamsarahk says:

    I hope you keep it up!
    I find that what works for me is focusing on one task a time (which in itself is a challenge as I am quite easily distracted) and rewarding myself when a task (or in your case a class) is complete.
    Another thing that might help is keeping a sense of humour! Never take anything too seriously 😀
    Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

