The Wrong Alice

Do you ever have those moments where you feel you are superimposed into your own life? I had that today.

There was all sorts of busyness, craziness and activity going on around me but it was almost as if I wasn’t quite there, as if for today I was the wrong Alice.

I’m sure that no one else noticed, I’m sure they all saw the Alice they wanted to see and heard the Alice they wanted to hear but I was not their Alice today.

Today, my mind was elsewhere, somewhere in that ether between reality and day-dream and I have to say I quite enjoyed it. You see the thing is, because of my ‘weird’ state of mind I was able to sail through the day unharmed.

I think it’s a defense mechanism of course, a way of dealing with the utter chaos that my current wonderland is in because if I actually took it all on board it may engulf me completely and I may end up ‘losing my head’

The truth is I’m not quite sure which ‘Alice’ is the right Alice any more, there seems to have been a sea change as if I have eaten some strange cake or drunk too much from a bottle saying ‘drink me’

The one thing I do know is that today I swapped my pretty dresses for armour and showed that I would not be walked over and it felt pretty darn good. My internal army is building, bolstered by ability to stand up to those who have previously seemed too strong.

I may have been the wrong Alice today but maybe she will soon be the right one?

About Louise

30 something teacher, wife, christian, Loves singing, baking, cats, encouragement, sunsets, walks, the sea, reading, smiling, laughing, being around people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wrong Alice

  1. iamsarahk says:

    I have those days too, I kind of enjoy them, it’s like I’m not steering

Leave a Reply

